‘Tis the Season…. Already?

Major stores are already setting up holiday displays. I was at  Target today and saw a new set of Christmas anRows of Bulbsd Winter themed pillows and blankets up for grabs. As I ventured over to see if the decorations area was set up, I was immediately tempted by the flashy ornaments and decor. That warm feeling inside started to spread and I was all smiles as I walked through the isles of bulbs and wreaths. For a moment my roommate and I actually contemplated buying a cheap fake tree for our dorm room.  But then I took a step back into reality and thought about all this Christmas marketing right after Halloween. My simple question:

When is the proper time to start decorating for Christmas?

I suppose the general rule is the week after Thanksgiving or the beginning of December. However, when department stores are setting up festive displays and radio’s are blaring “Jingle Bells”, it’s hard to resist. I took a survey on Facebook and Twitter to get some of my peers opinions. Here are some of the results:

Survey:
Do you think it is too soon for Christmas items to be appearing in stores?

Samantha Lidzbarski:
yes. because halloween and thanksgiving havent happened yet. so in theory, yes. but bc i love christmas, no.
Nathaniel Grills:
Its all about selling. and marketing.
Corie Dettman:
No! I love christmas stuff!

Twitaker0:
Yes, give up. Not till december
The fact that Halloween was last weekend and Thanksgiving isn’t for three weeks probably means that Christmas shouldn’t be welcomed in merchandising just yet. But as we all know, the earlier the decorations and items are out, the more income the industry makes. What’s my opinion? It’s never to early for some Christmas fun. What’s better than walking down a row of winter wonderland and craving Thanksgiving stuffing at the same time?
 
DSC00815

Target Christmas Decorations

About LSnyder

I am a Freshman at DePaul University majoring in PR & Advertising. I'm obsessed with the following: the Holidays especially Christmas, food and its glorious temptations, New York City, the Pittsburgh Steelers, and a good book. I'm a writer, a photographer, an artist, and, most importantly, a creater.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

