HBO GO…Away–I’ll Stick with my Hulu Account

Not to sound like a lovesick fool but… I completely and absolutely love and adore Hulu! It is the most convenient video site around in my opinion because honestly: where else can I watch my favorite TV shows when I am too busy to catch them on the tube? While I am praising the holiness of Hulu I might as well list my weekly shows that I MUST watch.

  • The Bachelor (this is a new one for me and I am actually quite surprised I got pulled into the hype.)
  • The Office (A clear given.)
  • Modern Family
  • House (Another fabulous show that if you are not currently watching–you should be. Hugh Laurie is probably one of the best actors on television.)
  • LOST (Oh yes. I am one of those people.)

Looking at this list I am not really sure how I find the time to watch all of this mindless TV. But I digress–the point is that Hulu is the king.

Many have tried to compete with Hulu and many have failed. Recently, HBO has come out with their Beta version which is called HBO GO. The first time I entered the tester site, I thought Okay, this looks similar to Hulu in design. However, once clicking around, it’s a bit different. Everything is available on one screen with horizontal scrolling to show the numerous amount of movie trailers and TV episodes available. The tabs are different with individual links to “Late Night” and “Comedy”. The site also includes a “watchlist” which I would assume is like Hulu’s “Queue” function. Overall it looks like a decent site and actually has many movies that I would love to watch right now instead of writing my Psychology of Fairy Tales reflective essay. Some noted ones are “Wanted” and He’s Just Not That Into You”. But like all seemingly good things, there is a major fault.

HBO GO is only “free” with a HBO subscription.

As long as Hulu is free and continues to provide me with endless entertainment I will be its humble slave. If one day I subscribe to HBO then I will probably sign up for the ride but only because they seem to have pretty popular movies which is an aspect that Hulu unfortunately lacks in my opinion. Only time and reviews will tell if this beta site should be taken to the next step and all I can say is good luck.

About LSnyder

I am a Freshman at DePaul University majoring in PR & Advertising. I'm obsessed with the following: the Holidays especially Christmas, food and its glorious temptations, New York City, the Pittsburgh Steelers, and a good book. I'm a writer, a photographer, an artist, and, most importantly, a creater.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

