Online Business Cards–Facebook Profile Badges

I was just checking my Facebook when I came across a new way to share your profile with the online world. Facebook has created a “Profile Badge” and a “Photo Badge” that users can post on other websites as a  preview to their FB pages. Apparently this isn’t a new thing as I just Googled it to see if anyone had commented. Perhaps I am extremely blind to the fact that Facebook even had Widgets but I can’t be the only one who did not know about this! Besides, I can’t even figure out how to get to the Facebook Widgets page without going through Google!

Anyway, from the looks of it, your badge can be vertical, horizontal, or two columned. It will include your profile picture and then an assortment of other information that you can specify. This other information ranges from your hometown to cell number to the current status update on your site.  Basically, it is like an online business card which is extremely similar to the one that Twitter has at TwtBizCard. Personally I am a fan of the twitter cards because I feel that my Facebook is personal. I tend to keep my FB to my friends so I don’t have to constantly monitor what I am posting for professionalism. I won’t be joining the FB profile badge trend anytime soon but it is interesting to see this new (is it new or am I just out of the loop?) online business card promoting. I actually quite like the Twitter cards and I am thinking of creating one soon.

By the way–Moo.com is the best place to get REAL snazzy business cards. I cannot wait to order mine as soon as I get a set address this Spring!

About LSnyder

I am a Freshman at DePaul University majoring in PR & Advertising. I'm obsessed with the following: the Holidays especially Christmas, food and its glorious temptations, New York City, the Pittsburgh Steelers, and a good book. I'm a writer, a photographer, an artist, and, most importantly, a creater.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Online Business Cards–Facebook Profile Badges

  1. LCD TV says:

    thanks !! very helpful post!

  2. Zonalibre says:

    Hello. Fantastic job, if I wasn’t so busy with my school work I read your whole site. Thanks!

  3. I trust you would not have reservations if I placed a part of this on my univeristy blog?

  4. Another a very great writeup by you looking forward to come back more really soon.

Leave a Reply

