Dizzy By City: A Tribute to the Goo Goo Dolls

Exterior seems to crumble at breath

except for the glowing jewel of a necklace,

The ruby door with a grand frame,

captivated lightings fall from each window showing

a glance into glamorous lives of the superfluous apartments,

contradiction to the outside rumble,

warm atmosphere and classy furniture meet the eyes.


I fumble out the door, curry hits the body

and wraps its spicy scent around me,

like a breeze from Beijing

Indian, Chinese and other ethnicities around

provide exotic food, bustling natives embrace new

culture while following the packed sidewalks that show

growing cracks. Taxis blur the world yellow and black

echoing crude honks and yells of the close walls.


Suits glance a second of their time to degrade

me down to city dirt. I try to morph to Central Park,

bypass the stares at my guitar slung around my back,

or the awed faces of fans and then the

excessive pointing that puts me on display

like some store mannequin.


Warmth hits my face, the shadows of the old beats

and buildings leaves me as I find

my classic movie scene bench.

I take my guitar and use the visuals and influences

of the day to write my song.

I dress it up as I finger notes on hard

mahogany absorbing the feathery rays of sun.

Then the notes come like water from a tap

And I dizzy myself up in the music.

About LSnyder

I am a Freshman at DePaul University majoring in PR & Advertising. I'm obsessed with the following: the Holidays especially Christmas, food and its glorious temptations, New York City, the Pittsburgh Steelers, and a good book. I'm a writer, a photographer, an artist, and, most importantly, a creater.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dizzy By City: A Tribute to the Goo Goo Dolls

  1. Pingback: Dizzy By City: A Tribute to the Goo Goo Dolls | Indian Today

Leave a Reply

