My Own Thoughts on Twitiquette

I’ve recently seen a lot of blogs on Twitiquette or “Twitter Etiquette” and I figured it was time that I put my own pet peeves out there. Here’s some major things that people on Twitter do to annoy me–don’t take it personally.

1. Drunk Tweet–Hey, I love the fact that you just had a killer night at Kelly’s Pub but no one appreciates a jumbled tweet about something incoherent. Want to tell your buddies about the guy you hooked up with? That’s what textings for. Drunk tweets can always be deleted but the chances of you actually purging them from your feed before the damage is done is close to none.

2. Keep it Classy–It’s all about professionalism. The occasional curse word is okay in my opinion (pick and choose wisely) but try to keep the swearing to a minimum. Don’t tweet anything that you wouldn’t want your future boss to read because there’s a chance he/she will.

3. Don’t Abuse the RT–Retweeting is an excellent tool and I am all for it being utilized the right way. However, some people feel that retweeting is the only way to get noticed by someone. In hopes of getting followed and recognized, play your cards right and do not RT every single second. Not only will the person you are RTing get annoyed fast but so will your followers if you have nothing unique to say for yourself.

4. Trending, Trending, Trending–I could kiss the people of Twitter for the Trending tool on the sidebar. It is really a great way to get to know what locals are talking about! Instead of checking NYTs or the like, I simply change the trending location to another city, country, or worldwide to see what the current buzz is all about. Please use this tool!

5. Networking–Twitter is the hottest way to network right now with social media and it is truly unbelievable the stories that I’ve heard about Twitter connections. My biggest tip is not to get stressed out. I know that creating a following can seem like an eternity but it takes time to grow! Promoting yourself and getting to know people with similar interests or organizations is a great way to start meeting new people and developing professional relationships. Try to keep up your newly created Twitter relationships as well!

6. Hashtag Love–(#) is my favorite way to organize my tweets and get to know what everyone else is talking about! Sometimes I will pull up another tab on my browser and Twitter search a hashtag to see how many people are using it. Adding a # is an excellent way to connect with people that have the same interests as you! Additionally, it can be used as a form a documentation. For example, if I wanted to keep my followers informed of my Spring Break trip to Fort Meyers, Florida, I could attach a # to the end of all my tweets that said something like #LSFortMeyers. That way anyone who was interested in tracking my trip and viewing Twitpics from the beach (jealous?) could just click the hashtag and see my tweet history.

–warning: the last thought is a personal rant–

7. Do NOT Tweet About Justin Bieber–My number one pet peeve dealing with twitiquette involves a 16-year-old male pop singer. Justin Bieber has been one of the number one trending topics on Twitter for months now and I can only imagine it is because thousands of girls decided that if they tweeted enough about him, he would follow them or mention them. While this is a possibility, the madness needs to stop! I have no biased against Justin Bieber and actually like one or two of his songs (guilty as charged) but this is not the appropriate way to use Twitter. So please stop spamming the world with Justin Bieber tweets. Please note this goes both ways–if you do not like Justin Bieber but are still tweeting about how much you dislike him, you are still spamming the Twitterverse with his name.

Thank you and Twitter responsibly!

About LSnyder

I am a Freshman at DePaul University majoring in PR & Advertising. I'm obsessed with the following: the Holidays especially Christmas, food and its glorious temptations, New York City, the Pittsburgh Steelers, and a good book. I'm a writer, a photographer, an artist, and, most importantly, a creater.
This entry was posted in Social Media, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

