PRSA YPN Chicago Presents “Social Media and Business Growth”

On April 13th I attended my first PRSA YPN networking event at GolinHarris. The event was called “Social Media and Business Growth” and it was basically a Q&A with Amy Korin (@interactiveAmy) and Mari Luangrath (@foiledcupcakes).

As it was my first time at an event like this, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Were there going to be tons of people there? Was it going to be really intimidating? These questions and more were circulating through my mind as I entered the elevator and ascended towards GolinHarris. I was with my friend Sonal and since we both did not know what to expect, we entered the room together with curiosity. What did we find? Only an environment that PR professionals both young and experienced can provide.

Mari, the owner of Foiled Cupcakes, immediately approached us and introduced herself. We talked for awhile as we waited to everyone to arrive and then Mari left to go talk to some other girls. Next Amy, as in THE InteractiveAmy, came up and sat down with us. I immediately felt like I was talking to an old friend as we discussed Amy’s upcoming trip to Israel and more.

The Q&A on social media was very insightful. Amy showed a video clip on why social media is not a fad but a long-term development in networking. I posted a link to the video below–I highly recommend you watch it! I took away a few important concepts from this event and all of them reaffirm my love for social media.

  • Every tweet can be branding for a company.
  • A company utilizing Twitter or other means of SM should always have a strategy. What can you take away from social media? Are your customers happy? Or neglected? How are you going to respond to negative customer feedback?
  • Always ask yourself “How am I adding value to my community?” before posting a tweet. Try to build an online community by finding people with similar interests and sharing your thoughts. Interaction is key!
  • Have a two-way conversation.
  • Amy and her husband Josh met through social media!

A big thank you to YPN, PRSA, Amy Korin, Mari Luangrath, and GolinHarris for making the event possible!

Fun Facts about Social Media

Did you know if Facebook were a country it would be the world’s 4th largest? Did you know Ashton Kutcher and Ellen DeGeneres have more Twitter followers than the entire population of Ireland, Norway and Panama? Check out some more unique facts by viewing this video on the Social Media Revolution.

“Social Media isn’t a fad, it’s a fundamental shift in the way we communicate.”

The Social Media Revolution

About LSnyder

I am a Freshman at DePaul University majoring in PR & Advertising. I'm obsessed with the following: the Holidays especially Christmas, food and its glorious temptations, New York City, the Pittsburgh Steelers, and a good book. I'm a writer, a photographer, an artist, and, most importantly, a creater.
This entry was posted in Public Relations, Social Media and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to PRSA YPN Chicago Presents “Social Media and Business Growth”

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention PRSA YPN Chicago Presents “Social Media and Business Growth” « PRimo. -- Topsy.com

  2. Mari says:

    Lovely to meet you too, Lauren! Let me know how I can help you in any way as you embark upon your adventures in PR – I’m sure there’s a ton we can learn from each other!

    Thanks again for being there and participating. Great to meet you.

  3. Lauren,

    Great blog here.

    Agree with the idea that every tweet/post is a branding opportunity in some way.

    Think that each update, like any communication vehicle, has the opportunity to create a positive, neutral or negative effect. And given the high volume of tweets/updates, so many are neutral — and the natural goal is to create more positives and stay away from any self-created negatives.

    Think that a lot of people behind retail accounts do a great job using social media to create a cohesive presence that matches the spirit of their brands and enthusiasm of their customers for a net positive effect.

    -Chris Ehrlich

    • LSnyder says:

      Hey Chris!

      Thanks for the praise. I completely agree with you — the more positive, the better. I am learning more and more about how businesses use social media through my internship where I have to monitor tweets that could effect clients. My involvement is really shaping my view on social media and how it should be used. I want to start a class at my school about utilizing social media properly because I know that hardly any of the students are on SM sites besides Facebook!

      Love your thoughts.

      Lauren

Leave a Reply

