Making the Switch

It’s official: I am making the life-changing switch from Facebook to Twitter.

Now don’t worry, I am not jumping off the deep-end and completely deleting my Facebook page. It’s just getting moved to the back-burner.

Why Twitter has won me over…


There is no ridiculous Farmville, Fishville, Cowville or whatever people waste their whole entire lives with. These games are like World of Warcraft. Life consuming.

…There is no petty drama filling my news feed. Facebook, especially when the majority of your friends are in college and think that Facebook is the appropriate outlet to voice ALL of their problems with the world, has become the new Perez Hilton site to me. The only difference is I actually know what all the drama is about. On Twitter, everything is usually upbeat and does not look like a war zone. On the bright side, if someone was to start a Twitter rampage and consume my feed with ridiculous remarks and confrontations, I could just “unfollow” them which is a lot easier than “unfriending” in my opinion.

…I go on Facebook to waste time. I will literally sit there and mindlessly click through hundreds of photographs of people I don’t know. On the other hand, when I have my Tweetdeck open in the background, I am actually working on things. When someone tweets, it appears in the right hand corner of my screen and I will occasionally press a link if it interests me.  This does not take endless clicking either.

…If I do like something on Twitter, it is almost always something that is educational or relevant to my life. I love checking out new posts on social media or public relations or even reading a review on a new product.

…I actually connect with new people on Twitter. I would never seek out someone on Facebook who looks like a great conversationalist with the same hobbies as me because that would be considered creepy and I would probably get denied as a friend. With Twitter, finding new people and communities to join is not only acceptable but it’s encouraged!

…Twitter will conveniently inform me of major news stories a few mere seconds after they occur. Facebook will have random posts days after the BP oil rig explosion that say “Oh hey, did you guys know that there was a huge oil spill?!?” Oh hey, I actually found out about that when it happened.

…Facebook’s new privacy regulations are completely absurd as well. According to the Electronic Frontier Foundation

Under the new regime, Facebook treats that information — along with your name, profile picture, current city, gender, networks, and the pages that you are a “fan” of — as “publicly available information” or “PAI.” Before, users were allowed to restrict access to much of that information. Now, however, those privacy options have been eliminated.

Recap

Facebook (is currently) wasting my time and handing out my information left and right.

Twitter (is currently) introducing and connecting me to people from all over the globe and keeping me updated with world news.

**Note: I will give Facebook a thumbs-up or “like” for fan pages and events because I do find them helpful at times.

About LSnyder

I am a Freshman at DePaul University majoring in PR & Advertising. I'm obsessed with the following: the Holidays especially Christmas, food and its glorious temptations, New York City, the Pittsburgh Steelers, and a good book. I'm a writer, a photographer, an artist, and, most importantly, a creater.
This entry was posted in Social Media and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making the Switch

  1. Alesya says:

    GREAT blog post! This really crystalized the difference between Facebook and Twitter for me and why I use each one. The issue is I still think more people visit Facebook everyday than Twitter. Or maybe I’m just not friends with the right people yet!

  2. Hey, good for you Lauren! Congrats on making the switch, I made a similar decision not too long ago. It is absolutely the right choice, especially career-wise, and it will do wonders for you. No need to waste your time on Facebook when there’s Twitter, which really can be productive!

Leave a Reply

