True Life: Superheroes Aren’t Real


Stress is basically a disconnection from the earth, a forgetting of the breath. Stress is an ignorant state. It believes that everything is an emergency. Nothing is that important. Just lie down.

Natalie Goldberg

I have come to the realization that I cannot do it all. I was walking down Fullerton Ave. yesterday and I completely lost it. Mental breakdown. On Fullerton Avenue. Everyone was watching.

Why do we work ourselves to death? Is it because we think that taking on as many projects as possible will help us reach our end goal of success faster? That’s how I have viewed my latest Quarter at DePaul. A one way track to the top. And it worked out pretty well considering I get the opportunity to work as an intern for Ruder Finn this summer. But now that I look back, I could have said “no” once in a while.

What has been on my plate this quarter?

  • Five classes (an extra then the recommended number)
  • a one month external internship at Ruder Finn
  • the PRSSA National Starbucks PR Campaign competition
  • DePaul PRSSA (Digital Committee, agency visits, philanthropy events, general + committee meetings)
  • work at Forever 21 (an extremely stressful job)
  • updating this blog
  • moving into my first apartment (buying all of my furniture, moving it all, etc)
  • AOII sorority commitments every week
  • etc etc etc etc

STRESS

While this is prevalent in any job, I feel that it takes a serious toll on PR practitioners. We are constantly trying to find the best way to represent something, we are constantly in communication, we are constantly on the go and in contact with everyone.

It’s not just a job description — it’s a way of life.

While we can embody the PR industry, we need to realize that we cannot do everything. Superheroes aren’t real. Sometimes we need a break.

A few things I’ve learned this week as finals are approaching and my workload has tripled:

  • Get at least six hours of sleep. I know it is hard to do at times especially when you have to be up by six a.m. for work or class like I do. But losing sleep is not going to contribute to your work.
  • Stay healthy. My personal health has drowned in a pile of excel sheets and essays. Yesterday I went for a run for the first time in almost a month and it felt fantastic. Exercise is an amazing way to relieve stress and release endorphins. Also, watch your diet. I know it is hard when you are constantly on the go and need to swallow whatever food is available, but take time to grab an apple instead of a tasty cake. Your body and mind will thank you later.
  • Learn to say “no”. If you are like me, this will take practice. I cannot bring myself to turn down a project regardless of how much work I have. I then find myself building a grudge against the person who assigned me the work. It is a horrible cycle and does not allow you to give one hundred percent effort on a project. Learn to say that beautiful word. No.
  • Dance. Yes, I know this seems a bit ridiculous. But everyone loves music and as far as I’m concerned, everyone loves to dance (maybe you just like to dance by yourself…). So crank up the tunes as loud as you can and dance like a crazy person. I’m serious. You will feel so much better afterwards. If you want to involve your friends, go to a club. The stress will melt away.

I know this seems like a rant but I feel that everyone can relate in one way or another. Stress is too commonplace in today’s society. I cannot wait for this summer when I can solely concentrate on my internship at Ruder Finn and nothing else. Not only will I be able to give my full attention to the work, I will be less stressed out and therefore happier with my life.

About LSnyder

I am a Freshman at DePaul University majoring in PR & Advertising. I'm obsessed with the following: the Holidays especially Christmas, food and its glorious temptations, New York City, the Pittsburgh Steelers, and a good book. I'm a writer, a photographer, an artist, and, most importantly, a creater.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

