Where Did My Summer Go? Oh Right, to Rent.

I feel the need to apologize for not updating my blog in what seems like years. Every morning I wake up and tell myself that I am going to write a post and then by the time I get home I am too tuckered out to start.

That being said — welcome to my life of 14 hour work days!

As an intern at Ruder Finn, I have spent the last month with a new-found love for agency life. It’s almost scary how attached I am becoming to my little cubicle. Here’s a highlight of what I have learned thus far at RF.

  1. 6 AM is the new 10 AM this summer: My body is now eternally set to wake up at six am everyday. While my internship is only 9 AM to 5 PM, I tend to get to work anywhere from an hour to a thirty minutes early. Waking up at six makes me feel like I am back in school considering I usually woke up around ten or eleven last summer but I’m not complaining. Men look really good in suits in the morning if you know what I mean. I enjoy getting to RF early because I can get my thoughts together and get a head start to the days projects.
  2. Cision is a girl’s best friend: For the last month I have used Cision every single day and I can swear by that statement. Cision really is a lifesaver sometimes and I cannot imagine my life of research before it. My only complaint is that my search tabs are building up like crazy because I do not delete them every time I enter someone’s name in. Basically I am on tab 540. I haven’t discovered the full beauty of Cision but I hope to be a master by the end of my internship.
  3. Research, research, research: Of course being an intern means grunt work. My suggestion is to embrace it and actually learn from it. For example, I had to compile a list of mommy bloggers to reach out to for a client pitch and let me tell you this list of bloggers was extensive to say the least. I literally went through over five hundred mom blogs to find out which ones had a high reach in readership and had the appropriate content for the client. While it was grueling at times, I now know everything I could possibly need to know about raising a child and saving money at the grocery store (and now I actually clip coupons and research sales before I go buy food for the week and save major bucks). More importantly, I gained a better understanding of what makes a good blog in terms of layout, content, design, etc. By the end of my research I was cringing at certain blogs that just did not meet my new site standards.
  4. Social Media Appreciation: I already loved social media before being assigned to monitor clients tweets and share of voice on the web but now I understand just how much work goes into launching a major companies social media plan. Monitoring is very extensive (especially without the help of Radian 6) with a daily and weekly report of trending topics and flagged conversations and every tweet needs to be approved (for now) by the client. All this work with social media from a business standpoint has helped me recognize what companies are utilizing social media outlets appropriately and which ones don’t have a clue what they are doing. I cannot wait to take my new knowledge on monitoring and planning to my internship at the Red Cross this fall.


I think I hit a point yesterday where I was emotionally, physically, and mentally drained all at the same time. Working at Ruder Finn all morning until 6:40pm and then running to Water Tower Mall to work at Forever 21 until 11pm will do that to you. However, I realize that I shouldn’t complain and focus on staying positive! After all, the weekend is just around the corner.

How do you stay positive when you feel overwhelmed? I’d love to hear.

About LSnyder

I am a Freshman at DePaul University majoring in PR & Advertising. I'm obsessed with the following: the Holidays especially Christmas, food and its glorious temptations, New York City, the Pittsburgh Steelers, and a good book. I'm a writer, a photographer, an artist, and, most importantly, a creater.
This entry was posted in Personal, Public Relations and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where Did My Summer Go? Oh Right, to Rent.

  1. Justin says:

    Hey there, I like the post! It’s funny though, I feel like with my Droid I had the same feelings. I am a bit bugged though that the Droid X doesn’t have a physical keyboard, I’m gonna hope there’s a true sequel to the Droid in the next few years.

    I like your blog, it’s fun and quirky. Plus, you seem to know about social networking and all that, which is definitely the way of the future!

    • LSnyder says:

      Thank you! I thought not have a keyboard was going to be difficult but now that I am getting used to just touch screen I feel that I can still type pretty fast. It’s just a challenge walking and texting… haha.

Leave a Reply

