Droid X Update: Text Lag? Fixed.

**Android Update**

If you read my last post on Droid X: The Perfect Man Phone, you already know I love my phone. Needless to say, when I started to experience serious text tag a few weeks after my post, I was extremely upset. For some reason, I convinced myself my phone was running slow due to the new Froyo upgrade and just suffered in silence. Okay so maybe I threw my phone against the lockers in the break room of Forever 21 after 10 minutes of ONE text loading. Something had to change or I was going to lose it.

After doing some research online, I found out that several other users had the same exact problem. A lot of people tried a factory reset only to find that the Droid X just returned to it’s old problems after a week. Others exchanged their phones completely. I was not about to go to the Verizon store and give up Drexy. Yes, I named my phone. It’s the first thing I see in the morning and the last thing I look at before I fall asleep. And if it isn’t in my hands when I am sleeping or close to my pillow, I usually freak out because I can’t answer late night emails. Yes, I’m that girl and I named my phone.

Anyway, if you are experiencing major text lag with your Droid, I know the solution. To perform a factory reset you have to complete the following:

*Warning: Factory resets erase ALL of your data, apps, contacts, etc. Make sure you have backup assistant or the likes so all of your contacts are not deleted!*

  1. Turn off your phone.
  2. Hold the power button and the home key until the screen with the exclamation screen comes up.
  3. Tap the search button.
  4. Make all the appropriate selections to delete all of your user data.
  5. It should take a few minutes to reboot and then you will have to reactivate your phone.

Now the important thing to do after you reactivate your phone is to NOT sync your Facebook and Twitter accounts to the contacts! DO NOT SYNC YOUR SOCIAL MEDIA TO THE CONTACTS! Okay 🙂

The reason for the text lag on the Droid is the unbelieveable amount of contacts that you acquire from syncing your accounts to the system. Do you need all of your Twitter followers information in your phone? No! I had over a thousand contacts; no wonder my phone was moving like a grandma.

Besides, you can just download the social media apps like Facebook for Android and everything will work just dandy.

After you do all of the above, your Droid X will be hot sex again.

Let me know if it works or if you have any questions!

As for me, well, I’m hitting L.A. for the weekend.

And don’t forget…Keys, Phone, Wallet. We just got it this morning from Urban! Typical welcome mat for Johanna and I. Have a great weekend everyone!


About LSnyder

I am a Freshman at DePaul University majoring in PR & Advertising. I'm obsessed with the following: the Holidays especially Christmas, food and its glorious temptations, New York City, the Pittsburgh Steelers, and a good book. I'm a writer, a photographer, an artist, and, most importantly, a creater.
This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Droid X Update: Text Lag? Fixed.

  1. work at home says:

    you have always nice things to post.

Leave a Reply

